An International Journal of Algal Research

The Journal of Phycology, the premier journal of research on phycology, is published six times a year. Articles include reports on systematics, ecology, morphology, cytology, physiology, biochemistry, cell biology, molecular biology, genetics, and applied phycology.

Society Exclusive

The bi-monthly journal is published in both print and online exclusively for members of the Phycological Society of America. In addition, members of PSA are able to search current & back issues, table of contents, abstracts and full-text articles of the electronic version of the Journal of Phycology. The table of content and abstracts are available free of charge to all. The full-text articles are reserved as a benefit for society members only. Members of the Phycological Society of America can also access the Journal of Phycology through an iPad and iPhone app. Instructions on how to access the journal on your mobile device are in this pdf.

Members of PSA are not charged page fees when they publish in the Journal of Phycology as first authors.

Online Journal

How to Subscribe

To subscribe to the journal or renew your current subscription, please visit our publisher's website.

How to Submit Articles

The preferred method of submitting manuscripts to the Journal of Phycology is through our on-line manuscript submission and review system, Manuscript Central, a ScholarOne product that is provided by Wiley-Blackwell Publishing. To submit your manuscript, please go to

All authors should carefully review the publisher's Author Guidelines prior to submission.

The on-line submission is a step-by-step process and full instructions are provided and additional support is available on-line. Authors will be able to track the progress of their manuscripts and will be notified when referee and editor comments are available on-line. We are very excited about launching this new site and we hope that you will enjoy using it. Use of Manuscript Central will facilitate the transfer of manuscripts between Associate Editors and reviewers. It is our hope that Manuscript Central will decrease the time from submission to editorial decision and we hope that reviewers will find the system beneficial and less time consuming than the paper system or e-mail system.

For further information on submission of articles, contact the managing editor.

The Journal's Editoral Staff


Debashish Battacharya, Rutgers University
Michael Graham, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories
Arthur Grossman, The Carnegie Insitution
Jonathan Zehr, University of California Santa Cruz

Managing Editor

Michael Graham, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories

Assistant Editor

Sarah Jeffries, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories

Associate Editors

Charles D. Amsler, University of Alabama at Birmingham
Alejandro Buschmann, Universidad de Los Lagos
Mark Cock, Station Biologique de Roscoff
Jackie Collier, Stony Brook University
Olivier De Clerck, Universiteit Gent
Kenneth H. Dunton, University of Texas at Austin
Paul Gabrielson, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Linda E. Graham, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Christopher Harley, University of British Columbia
Catriona Hurd, University of Otago
Peter Kroth, University of Konstanz
Christopher E. Lane, University of Rhode Island
Senjie Lin, University of Connecticut
Debbie Lindell, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Thomas Mock, University of East Anglia
Kirsten Müller, University of Waterloo
Matthew Posewitz, Colorado School of Mines
Brian Palenik, Scripps Institute of Oceanography
John A. Raven, University of Dundee
J. Craig Bailey, University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Klaus Valentin, Alfred Wegener Institute
Heroen Verbruggen, University of Melbourne
Morgan L. Vis, Ohio University
Thomas Wernberg, The University of Western Australia
Richard Wetherbee, University of Melbourne
A. Michelle Wood, University of Oregon

Editorial Board

Juliet Brodie, Natural History Museum, UK (2015-2017)
Corina Brussard, University of  Amsterdam (2015-2017)
Cheong Xin Chan, University of Queensland (2016-2018)
David Wilson Freshwater, University of Portsmouth (2017-2019)
Jeffrey R. Johansen, John Caroll University (2017-2019)
Paul Hayes, University of Portsmouth (2015-2017)
Susan Kilham, Drexel University (2017–2019)
Christopher E. Lane, University of Rhode Island (2017–2019)
Line Le Gall, Herbier National Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle (2016–2018)
Frederick Leliart, Ghent University (2015-2017)
Patrick Martone, University of British Columbia (2017-2019)
Karina Nielsen, Sonoma State University (2015-2017)
Connie Lovejoy, Université Laval (2016-2018)
Deborah Roberston, Clark University (2017-2019)
Bernabe Santelices, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile (2015-2017)
Gary Saunders, University of New Brunswick (2015-2017)
Ester Serrão, Universidade do Algarve (2017-2019)
Alison Sherwood, University of Hawaii (2017-2019)
Karen Steidinger, Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (2015-2017)
Joe Zuccarello, Victoria University of Wellington (2016-2018) 
Carmelo Tomas, University of North Carolina Wilmington (2015-2017)