PSA Honorary Awards

Harold C. Bold Award

The Bold Award was established in 1973 to honor Harold C. Bold, former president of the Phycological Society. The Award is given for the outstanding graduate student paper(s) presented at the Annual Meeting as determined by the Bold Award Committee. The original funding for this award came from the sale of Contributions in Phycology (1971), edited by Malcolm Brown and Bruce Parker. Past recipients.

Gerald W. Prescott Award

The Prescott Award is given to recognize scholarly work in English in the form of a published book or monograph devoted to phycology published in the last 2 years. Past recipients.

Luigi Provasoli Award

The Luigi Provasoli Award is presented annually to the author(s) of the three, or fewer, outstanding papers published in the Journal of Phycology during the previous fiscal year. History & past recipients.

Award of Excellence

This award has been established to recognize phycologists who have demonstrated sustained scholarly contributions in and impact on the field of phycology over their careers. These individuals have also provided service to PSA as well as other phycological societies. Past recipients.