PSA Officers & Executive Committee 2018


Kirsten Müller, Department of Biology, University of Waterloo, B2 245A, 200 University Ave. W, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada N2L 3G1; phone: 519-888-4567, ext. 32224, email

Past President

Alison Sherwood, Department of Botany, University of Hawai'i at Manoa, 3190 Maile Way, Honolulu, Hawaii, U.S.A. 96822, phone: 808-956-3930 or 808-956-4115, email

Vice-President/President Elect

Dale Casamatta, Department of Biology, University of North Florida, Building 59, Room 3308, (904) 620-1936, email

International Vice-President

Joe Zuccarello, School of Biological Sciences, Victoria University of Wellington, Room 324, Te Toki a Rata Building, Kelburn Parade, Wellington, New Zealand; (phone +64 04 4636414), email


Patrick Martone, Department of Botany, University of British Columbia, 3529-6270 University Blvd, Vancouver, BC V6T 1Z4 Canada, Rm 3224, Biological Sciences Building; 604-822-9338 (PTM office), 604-822-9413 (lab), email


Julie Koester, Department of Biology and Marine Biology, University of North Carolina Wilmington, 601 South College Road, Wilmington, NC 28403-5915, (910) 962-7366 email

Program Director

Amy Carlile, Department of Biology, University of New Haven, Charger Plaza 13, 300 Boston Post Rd, New Haven CT 06516, phone (203) 479-4257, email

Membership Director

Maggie Amsler, Department of Biology, University of Alabama at Birmingham, 1300 University Blvd CH464, Birmingham, AL 35294 USA, (phone 205-934-1034; fax 205-975-6097), email

Chair, Board of Trustees

Morgan L. Vis, Department of Environmental and Plant Biology, Ohio University, Porter Hall 400, Athens, OH 45701 USA (phone 740-593-1134), email

Fund Manager of the Endowment

Steve Murray, 18102 Catalina Court, Yorba Linda, CA 92886 USA (phone 714-308-0621), email

Managing Editor, Journal of Phycology

Michael H. Graham, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories, 8272 Moss Landing Rd., Moss Landing, CA 95039 USA (phone 831-771-4481; fax 831-632-4403), email

Communications Director

Jeff Morris, Department of Biology, University of Alabama at Birmingham, 1300 University Blvd CH464, Birmingham, AL 35294 USA (phone 205-934-9498, fax 205-975-6097), email

Student Member Representative

Arley Muth, University of Texas Marine Science Institute, 750 Channel View Drive, Port Aransas TX 78373, email

List of past PSA officers

Click here to view an entire list of 2019 PSA committees

Journal of Phycology


Debashish Battacharya, Rutgers University
Michael Graham, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories
Arthur Grossman, The Carnegie Insitution
Jonathan Zehr, University of California Santa Cruz

Managing Editor

Michael Graham, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories

Assistant Editor

Sarah Jeffries, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories

Associate Editors

Charles D. Amsler, University of Alabama at Birmingham
J. Craig Bailey, University of North Carolina, Wilmington
Alejandro Buschmann, Universidad de Los Lagos
Mark Cock, Station Biologique de Roscoff
Jackie Collier, Stony Brook University
Olivier De Clerck, Universiteit Gent
Kenneth H. Dunton, University of Texas at Austin
Paul Gabrielson, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Linda E. Graham, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Christopher Harley, University of British Columbia
William Henley, Oklahoma State University
Catriona Hurd, University of Otago
Peter Kroth, University of Konstanz
Christopher E. Lane, University of Rhode Island
Senjie Lin, University of Connecticut
Debbie Lindell, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Thomas Mock, University of East Anglia
Kirsten Müller, University of Waterloo
Brian Palenik, Scripps Institution of Oceanography
Matthew Posewitz, Colorado School of Mines
John A. Raven, University of Dundee
Klaus Valentin, Alfred Wegener Institute
Heroen Verbruggen, University of Melbourne
Morgan L. Vis, Ohio University
Thomas Wernberg, The University of Western Australia
Richard Wetherbee, University of Melbourne
A. Michelle Wood, University of Oregon

Editorial Board

Juliet Brodie, Natural History Museum, UK (2015–2019)
Corina Brussaard, University of Amsterdam (2015–2017)
Cheong Xin Chan, The University of Queensland (2016–2018)
David Wilson Freshwater, University of North Carolina, Wilmington (2017-2019)
Paul Hayes, University of Portsmouth (2015–2017)
Jeffrey R. Johansen, John Carroll University (2017-2019)
Susan Kilham, Drexel University (2017-2019)
Christopher E. Lane, University of Rhode Island (2017-2019)
Line Le Gall, Herbier National Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle (2016–2018)
Frederik Leliaert, Ghent University (2015–2017)
Connie Lovejoy, Université Laval (2016–2018)
Patrick Martone, University of British Columbia (2017–2019)
Karina Nielsen, San Francisco State University (2015–2017)
Deborah Roberston, Clark University (2017–2019)
Bernabé Santelices, Pontifi cia Universidad Catolica de Chile (2015–2017)
Gary Saunders, University of New Brunswick (2015–2017)
Ester Serrão, Universidade do Algarve (2017–2019)
Alison Sherwood, University of Hawaii (2017–2019)
Karen Steidinger, Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (2015–2017)
Carmelo Tomas, University of North Carolina Wilmington (2015–2017)
Joe Zuccarello, Victoria University of Wellington (2016–2018)